BJD Sweeps 26 Districts in Zilla Parishad Elections

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik
Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik
Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik
Bhubaneswar: According to the results announced by the State Election Commission (SEC) on Thursday, the ruling Biju Janata Dal has registered complete majority in 26 districts i the Zila Parishad polls.

Elections were held for 851 Zilla Parishad Zones out of a total of 854 Zilla Parishad Zones. While BJD claimed 651 seats, the Congress with 128 Zilla Parishad Zones stood second. BJP on the other hand was completely wiped out with just 36 Zilla Parishad zones. The CPI and CPI(M) candidates registered victories in two and one Zilla Parisha Zones respectively while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha(JMM) bagged 11 Zilla Parishad Zones. The Independents could taste success in 22 Zilla Parishad Zones.

The BJD has claimed majority in Angul, Balasore, Bargarh, Bhadrak, Bolangir, Boudh, Cuttack, Deogarh, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Kalahandi, Kendrapara, Keonjhar, Khurda, Mayurbhanj, Nawrangpur, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Puri, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Sundergarh, Sambalpur and Sonepur. The Congress has claimed majority in Jharsuguda, Kondhmal and Koraput while the BJP could not claim a single district.

The elections for Zilla Parishad Presidents would be held on March 13.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here