Bhubaneswar: The prestigious Sarala Award a major literary award in Oriya language and literature was awarded to well-known poet and playwright Harihar Mishra by Ashok Vajpayee, Chairman, Lalit Kala Academy, at Rabindra Mandap on Sunday.

The Sarala Award Committee evaluated the Sahitya Academy Award winner writer’s overall literary achievements and decided to present him the award for his book “Dibya Asantosha”, penned in 2009. The award carried a citation and a cash award of Rs.2.5lakhs.

Two other eminent personalities, poet and noted classical vocalist Arup Lal Ghosh and social worker Sruti Mohapatra were also conferred for their contribution to classical music and social work respectively. Each of them received a cash award of Rs 51,000, and a citation.

The Sarala Award to glorify Odiya literature has been instituted by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust of the IMFA Group since 1978.

A number of literary personalities from various walks of life were present at the award presentation ceremony at Rabindra Mandap.