New Delhi:  State owned oil firms have announced to increase petrol prices by Rs 1.82 per litre which will be in effect from Thursday night.

It is noteworthy to mention that this is the fourth hike in prices of petrol this year. As a result of this hike petrol will now cost Rs. 68.84 a litre in Delhi, Rs.73.81 in Mumbai, Rs.72.73 in Chennai, Rs. 76.64 in Bangalore and Rs. 73.15 in Kolkata and Rs. 68.49 in Bhubaneswar.

The three major state-owned oil firms like Indian Oil, HPCL and Bharat Petroleum, had last hiked petrol prices by Rs 3.14 a litre on September 16. Prices were first raised this year by Rs 3.5 per litre on January 16 and by Rs 5 per litre on May 15.

The BJP has reacted strongly to this and has criticized the Government.

As said by BJP Spokesperson Mr. Rajiv Pratap, “the hike in petrol price again is yet another severe blow from the Government to the common man.”

As said by the oil firms, they were incurring heavy loss by supplying petrol at the current rate hence to make up the loss they have increased the price by Rs 1.82 per litre.