Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s request for granting Odisha a special category status has been rejected by the Parliament, while a similar proposal from Bihar is under examination.

Mr. Ashwani Kumar, Union Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, said that, requests for the special category status had been received earlier from Odisha, Bihar, Goa and Rajasthan. But it is not found possible to grant the requests from Odisha, Goa and Rajasthan.

Answering a question in the Lok Sabha, Mr. Kumar said, a delegation from Bihar in July 2011 had met Prime Minister, Mr. Manmohan Singh and had given a memorandum with a request for special category status to Bihar. Moreover an Inter-ministerial group was constituted on 8th September 2011, to examine the memorandum. On 30th May 2011, Odisha CM Mr. Patnaik had requested that Odisha should be granted with special category status.

Presently Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura and Uttarakhand have been granted the status of special category States and are availed with desired financial help.

It is noteworthy to mention that States under this special category have a low natural resource base and are incapable of capitalising resources for their developmental needs.