Bhubaneswar : The state-wide journey of Bigyan Rath which started from Khandapada, the birthplace of Pathani Samanta, by Shri M. C. Bhandare, His Excellency the Governor of Odisha, on 14th November 2011, in the run up to the 99th Science Congress scheduled to be held at KIIT University from 3rd January to 7th January, concluded its journey in Cuttack, the birthplace of renowned scientist P. K. Parija, on 3rd December 2011.

The Rath in its very successful run during 20-day period traveled 4000 kilometers, covering more than 1000 educational institutes and more than 100 towns in all the 30 districts of Odisha, touching each and every individual.

The closing ceremony of the Bigyan Rath was held at Ravenshaw University, Cuttack.

The Bigyan Rath has played a constructive role in taking the message of benefits of science and technology in rural area, said Dr. Patasani. Hailing the initiative of KIIT as unique and innovative, Shri Mahtab said that the grand success of the Bigyan Rath points to the need to organise more such mass contact programmes in the field of science and technology. Dr. Samanta thanked people of Odisha for the success of the Bigyan Rath and extended them invitation to be a part of the mega scientific event to be held in KIIT during 3-7 January 2012. Prof. Kolaskar delivered the presidential address, while Dr. Naik proposed the vote of thanks.            
Total 31 toppers of District-level Essay Competition organised by KIIT in all the districts of Odisha as a prelude to the 99th Indian Science Congress, were also announced and awarded on the occasion.
Shri Vilasrao Deshmukh, Hon’ble Union Minister of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences had inaugurated the District-level and National-level essay competition at KIIT last month. In the junior category, 30 toppers, one from each district, were awarded with Rs. 10,000/- and a certificate each. Sole winner in the senior category received Rs. 15,000/- and a certificate. Ms. Bibhusmita Singha Samanta, fourth generation of Pathani Samanta, was also felicitated on the occasion. Result of National-level essay competition will be declared during the 99th session of Indian Science Congress. 
Amongst others Dr. P. K. Patasani, Hon’ble MP, Bhubaneswar; Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab, Hon’ble MP, Cuttack; Shri Pravat Ranjan Biswal, Hon’ble MLA, Choudwar-Cuttack; Shri Manmohan Praharaj, IPS, Director General of Police, Odisha; Girish S. N, Collector, Cuttack; Dr. R. N. Ray, Chairman, National Children Science Congress; Prof. B. C. Tripathy, VC, Ravenshaw University, Cuttack; Dr. A. Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS; Prof. A. S. Kolaskar, VC, KIIT University; and Dr. A. K. Naik, Registrar, NISER; Lalatendu Parija, the son of Late P. K. Parija and Shrikant Parida, President of Ravenshaw University Students union were present on this occasion.