Bhubaneswar: At a Press Meet of Odisha State Film Awards, at Panthanivas on Sunday, it was declared that Veteran Director and Cinematographer Apurba Kishore Bir will receive Jayadev Award, the highest honour of Odia cinema for lifetime achievement, for the year 2010.

The award consisting of a citation and a cash prize of Rs 25, 000 will be given at the 22nd State Film Award Festival on 21stDecember at Utkal Mandap.

Odia movie ‘Swayamsiddha’ , based on Maoist insurgency in Odisha, will receive Mohan Sundar Dev Goswami Award. The movie will receive a total of eight awards, best Director (Sudhansu Mohan Sahu), best story (Namita Mallik), best photographer (Sanjeev Kumar Mohapatra)), best lyricist (Swarupt Naik), best Art Director (Buddha Maharana), best sound recordist (Ajay) and the Special jury award (Sidhant Mohapatra).

The jury members declared Babusan as best actor and best play-back singer for the film ‘Prema Adhei Akshara’, Riya as best actress for the same film. In other categories, Abhijit Mazumdar was declared best music director, Ira Mohanty as best female playback singer, Mihir Das as best supporting actor, Ushashi Mishra as best supporting actress, Swarup Nayak as best lyricist, Jiban Panda as best comedian, Master Ankit as best child artist and Sukumar Mani was selected for best editing.

Prafulla Samal, Culture Minister of Odisha, informed that the prize money will be increased from Rs 1,27,500 to Rs 5,00,000 from next year.

Amongst others, Prativa Ray, Technician Raju Mishra, cine-critic Pradosh Patnaik, Journalist Parikhit Jena, film producer and director Gadadhar Putty and Sabyasachi Mahapatra were present on this occassion.