Bhubaneswar: The 31st Convocation ceremony of Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology (OUAT), Bhubaneswar was celebrated at University Head Quarters on Saturday.

Presiding over the function, Sj.Muralidhar Chandrakant Bhandare, His Excellency Governor of Odisha and Chancellor of the University told that, “There is lot of expectation from the State and the country from the faculties, scientists, research scholars and stuydents of this University. The srudents and faculty members should contribute their best for the all round development of agriculture and allied sectors keeping in view the changing climate.”

Shri Pradeep Maharathy, Honrable Minister of Agriculture, Odisha and Pro-Chancellor of the University focused on the diversification of field crops to horticultural crops, fisheries, animals and forest resources for higher profit of the farmers. He also stressed on enhancing seed replacement rate, promoting hybrid agricultural products and maintenance of soil health and amelioration of soil.

The role of research scholars and scientists in achieving “Second Green Revolution” is of paramount importance for achieving food security of the State, Shri Mahatarthy added.

Honorary Doctorates were conferred on five eminent personalities namely Dr. S. Ayyappan, Dr. R.B.Singh, Prof. (Dr.) P.I.Peter, Dr. (Mrs.) Manju Sharma and Dr. Narayan Mohanty in recognition of their illustrious services in the field of agricultural science and technology.

In this convocation as many as 450 Graduates, 193 Post-graduates and 6 Ph.Ds were conferred degrees in various disciplines. Besides this 75 Gold medals and 11 cash prizes were awarded to those who have excelled in their academic pursuit and co-curricular activities.

Along with other dignitaries, the function was attended by scientists, professors, students, officials of the State and Central Agricultural Organizations and Institutes .