Bhubaneswar: The 22nd State Film Awards function was held at Utkal Mandap on Wednesday.

Veteran Director and Cinematographer Apurba Kishore Bir, received the prestigious Jayadev Award for Lifetime Achievement for his contribution to the field of cinema.

Odia movie ‘Swayamsiddha’, based on Maoist insurgency in Odisha, received the Mohan Sundar Dev Goswami Award. Sudhansu Mohan Sahu was given the Best Director Award. Along with this the film swept six other awards: best story Namita Mallik, best photographer (Sanjeev Kumar Mohapatra)), best lyricist (Swarupt Nayak), best Art Director (Budha Moharana), best sound recordist (Ajay) and Special jury award (Sidhant Mohapatra).

Babusan received the best actor and best play-back singer award for the film ‘Prema Adhei Akshara’. Riya received the best actress award for the same film.

In other categories, Abhijit Mazumdar won the best music director award, while Ira Mohanty won the best female playback singer award. Mihir Das and Ushashi Mishra won the best supporting actor and actress award respctively. Jiban Panda and Master Ankit won the best comedian and best child artiste award respectively.

The seven member Jury comprising veteran actor Sarat Pujari, writer Prativa Ray, cinematographer-filmmaker Raju Mishra, cine-critic Pradosh Patnaik, Journalist Parikhit Jena, editor-filmmaker Gadadhar Putty and filmmaker Sabyasachi Mohapatra had selected the awardees.

Prafulla Samal, Culture Minister of Odisha, informed that the prize money for Jaydev Award will be increased from Rs 1,27,500 to Rs 5,00,000 from next year. Apart from this five new awards: Tribal language film, dialogue writer, costume man, make-up man and choreography will be instiuted from next year.