The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday announced an over a month-long election schedule for five States, UP, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur, and Goa, beginning January 28 and ending March 3, 2012.

The most politically crucial Uttar Pradesh (UP) will witness seven-phase voting which starts from February 4 to February 28, 2012, while Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa will go to polls in a single phase.

The Chief Election Commissioner SY Quraishi announced that the Punjab and Uttarakhand will vote on January 30, Manipur on January 28 and Goa on March 3 while UP will see polling on February 4, 8, 11, 15, 19, 23 and 28.