Bhubaneswar: The three-tier panchayat elections will be held over five phases from February 11, 2012. The State Election Commission (SEC) on Saturday notified the polls to be held on February 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19.

Talking to the mediapersons about the poll schedule, the State Election Commissioner Ajit Kumar Tripathy said the model code of conduct has come into effect and will remain in force till February 19, 2012. In addition to this, the ongoing flood reconstruction and damage repair works will continue but no new projects can be taken up.

The election will not be held for the Dhinkia gram panchayat sarpanch under Ersama block in Jagatsinghpur district where the conflict over Pocso continues to remain alive. However, election will be held for panchayat samiti and zilla parishad members, informed Tripathy.

According to the poll schedule, 50 per cent seats in all categories of posts have been reserved for women candidates. During the five-phase polls, over 2.44 crore voters will exercise their franchise to elect around one lakh grass-roots level representatives comprising gram panchayats, panchayat samitis and zilla parishads that will be held between 7 PM and 12 noon. The results will be announced on February 21, 2012 for sarpanch and ward member and February 22, 2012 for panchayat samiti and zilla parishad members.