Bhubaneswar: The Utkal University of Culture, on Wednesday, has announced to award honorary directorate to 19 eminent persons from the fields of art, culture and literature.

As per sources from the Culture Department, four noted literary persons namely Mohapatra Nilamani Sahu, Chandra Sekhar Rath, Satkadi Hota and Pratibha Ray will be honoured at a special function on 4th January 2012.

Others who have been selected for the honorary doctorates include Shyamamani Devi, Prafulla Kar, Santanu Mohapatra and Pandit Jasraj in music, Manoranjan Das and Bijay Kumar Mishra in drama, Padma Bhusan Uma Sharma and Minati Mishra in dance, Padma Bhusan Raghunath Mohapatra, Sudarshan Sahu and Krishan Khanna in sculpture, and Durga Prasad Das, Ajit keshari Ray, Pk Mahandia in Art.

The Utkal University of Culture, the first of its type in India, was, established with the objective of promoting education, research and training in various spheres of culture such as language, literature, religions, visual arts, performing arts, sculpture, architecture, folklore, tribal studies etc.