Jagatsinghpur: As the withdrawal of nomination papers concluded on Friday as many as 5 candidates filed nominations earlier for contesting Zilla Parishad polls, withdrew their papers as resulted after 103 candidates from different political parties, independents remained in the elections fray in 26 ZP seats in Jagatsinghpur district, official reports said.

However, during last day opting withdrawal of nomination papers, about 146 Sarpanch, 111 Samiti Member, 312 ward member candidates took out contesting elections in 8 blocks spreading Jagatsinghpur district, district election department added.

Report said that the candidates stayed away from ZP polls and withdrew their nomination papers have been identified as Dilip Lenka and Prafulla Lenka from Naugaon Zone 2, Rashmi Prava Sahoo from Tirtol Zone 1, Jasmati Mohanty from Kujanga Zone 4 and Suchitra Mohapatra from Erasama Zone 2. Earlier one candidate’s nomination paper had rejected owing non submission of caste certificate, informed election officer cum sub collector B B Bhola.

However, 1021 ward member candidates’ elected unopposed in different blocks as no contesting candidate came forth fighting elections against them, the uncontested ward members elected in different blocks as Jagatsinghpur 154, Erasama 90, Biridi 157, Balikuda 146, Tirtol 114, Raghunathpur 167, Kujanga 135 and Naugaon 58.