Press Meet on 77th All India Railway Athletics Championship
Press Meet on 77th All India Railway Athletics Championship
Bhubaneswar: In a press meet at East.Coast Railway Headquarters today, it was revealed that the prestigious All India Railway Athletic Championship, organised by East Coast Railway will commence from February at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar.

A “Torch Rally” will be taken out from EcoR Sadan, Headquarter of East Coast Railway to Kalinga Stadium in the morning. The rally will be inaugurated by Sri Indra Ghosh, General Manager, East Coast Railway. The event will be inaugurated by His Excellency Governor of Odisha Shri M C Bhandare in the afternoon.

The opening day ceremony will start with the March Past of the athletes. The highlight of the first day will be the Mega Odissi Dance programme by a record number of 150 professional dancers from Odissi Dance Academy, under the guidance of Guru Aruna Mohanty.

As many as nine Arjuna Awardees including the former Sprint Queen Padmashree P. T. Usha, J. J. Sobha, Joseph Abraham, S. Geeta, Preeja Sreedharan, Krishna Poonia are coming to Bhubaneswar for this event.

More than 600 athletes and officials will be participating in the event. A total of 21 teams from different Railway are going to participate in two groups namely Men and Women

East Coast railways has released a mascot for the event named “Purva” representing Eastern India in general and East Coast Railway in particular.

Among others, Shri R. N. Mahapatra Chief PRO, East Coast Railway, Shri R. K. Tandon, Chief Commercial Manager, Shri D. K. Samantray, President, ECoRSA, Shri S. Tripathy, SDGM were present.