Jagatsinghpur: Six Zilla Parishad constituencies, 64 Sarpanch, 64 Samiti member and above one thousand ward member posts of Tirtol and Raghunathpur blocks will go on polls today, setting in motion an electoral battle which will give an opportunity to sitting MLA Ravi Bhoi and former legislator and Congress leader Chiranjeev Biswal to bounce back in to pre-eminence in Tirtol assembly constituency. 

The outcome of these ZP seats and Grama Panchayat polls which will set the tempo for the 2014 coming assembly elections. The results will decide the supremacy of state ruling BJD and Congress at the grassroot level. 

Taking account of last ZP elections 2007 held in Tirtol block, out of 4 ZP Zones, Congress had bagged 3 seats and BJD had captured only one seat. This time BJD and Congress have fielded candidates in 4 zones and it is expected that the main fight would be held between both the parties. 

Tirtol ZP elections has become a prestigious issue for Chiranjeev Biswal and his younger brother former MP and cricketer Ranjiv Biswal, as their father senior Congress leader and former minister late Basant Biswal was representing Tirtol assembly constituency and Chiranjeev Biswal was elected to assembly from here in the year 2000. But this
assembly constituency was put under reservation for SC candidate in the year 2009. sSo he shifted to the Jagatsinghpur assembly seat in the 2009 general elections.

Both the Biswal brother’s were in campaign trail and were canvassing for the Congress supported ZP candidates and refreshing locals mind that massive developmental works had under taken during the regime of late Basant Biswal and present BJD Government and its MLA have paid no heed for the development of Tirtol during the 12 years of their rule. 

On turn BJD has taken the ongoing ZP and GP polls as a challenge for them. MLA Ravi Bhoi is leading the election campaign. The ZP results will establish the political future of Ravi Bhoi and his mentor senior MLA Bishnu Das who has given him liberty to prove his efficiency and popularity. 

However in Raghunathpur block, 2 ZP seats, 19 Sarapanch, 19 Samiti member and ward member posts will go to poll today . In 2 ZP seats, main fight expected to be between Congress and BJD. There are 7 candidates contesting in ZP polls followed by 83 candidates for Sarpanch, 63 candidates for the Samiti member posts. 

In past 2007 ZP polls BJD and congress had bagged 1 ZP seats each and Panchayat Samiti Chairman post was captured by BJD. So this time both parties are trying hard to retain their old position.