Family members of a victim in the recent hooch tragedy at Cuttack
Family members of a victim in the recent hooch tragedy at Cuttack
Bhubaneswar:In the wake of the hooch tragedy, Excise Commissioner Sudarshan Nayak has been transferred and posted as Director, Public Grievance and Pension Administration (PGPA).

The decision to shift the Excise Commissioner came following a high-level meeting chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who reviewed the post-tragedy situation.

Managing Director of Odisha Mining Corporation (OMC) Saswat Mishra has been given the additional charge of Excise Commissioner. Prior to this, he was also in charge of Director, Sports.

Biswar Nayak, Special Secretary, SC and ST Development Department, has been transferred and appointed Inspector General Registration with additional charge as Secretary, Board of Revenue, Cuttack.

Apart from this eight IAS officers of 1996 batch were given in-situ promotion to the rank of commissioner. Presently, they are holding the rank of Additional Secretary.

The IAS officers promoted to the rank of Commissioner-Cum-Special Secretary include Additional Secretary Special Projects in Panchayati Raj Department, Arabinda Padhee, Additional Secretary Panchayati Raj Usha Padhee, Odisha Mining Corporation MD Saswat Mishra and BMC Chairman Vishal Dev, Rabi Ranjan Mallick MD, Orissa State Beverages Corporation, Bipin Bihari Mohapatra, Registrar, Cooperative Socities, Alekh Charan Padhiary, Labour Commissioner and Vir Vikram Saswat, Director, Department of Commerce in the Ministry of Commerce.

It is noteworthy to mention that Anang Udaya Singhdeo had earlier resigned sighting moral grounds following the tragedy.

Jyotirmayee Behera, assistant drug controller alongwith R B Patra, inspector of M & T unit and a sub-inspector, Mritunjaya Behera of Cuttack excise department were also suspended before.