Jagatsinghpur: The fourth phase of the Panchayat polls will begin on Friday. 4 Zilla Parishad constituencies, 30 Sarpanch, 30 Samiti members and more than one thousand ward member posts of Balikuda block will go on polls.

The ruling party MLA Prasant Muduli and senior Congress leader and former legislator Umesh Swain will prove their pre-
eminence and supremacy during the polls.

As many as 20 candidates from different political parties including few independents are in poll fray for the 4 ZP constituencies and a maximum of 8 candidates are contesting in Zone 2. The main fight is expected between BJD and Congress.

In 2007 ZP elections held in these ZP seats Congress had bagged 3 seats and sitting MLA Prasant Muduli was the only BJD aspirant elected for Zilla Parishad in this election. However he resigned after he was elected to State assembly in the 2009 general elections.

As BJD candidates are on a winning spree in ZP elections and are in a comfortable position to capture the Zilla Parishad after completion of the third phase ZP polls held in Jagatsinghpur district, BJD leaders are optimistic and are claiming to occupy 4 seats in Balikuda block.

Opposition Congress also expressed its confidence to open its account in Balikuda ZP polls on Friday and claimed that
Congress will retain its old position as in 2007.