Fourth Phase of  Zilla Parishad Election
Fourth Phase of Zilla Parishad Election
Bhubaneswar: The Fourth phase of the election in Odisha is being held today in 1,151 gram panchayats and 164 Zilla Parishad segments under 67 blocks in 27 districts. An estimated 46.47 lakh voters will exercise their franchise in 16,362 booths to choose their candidates.

The administration has geared up to conduct the fourth phase poll. All security arrangements are made for peaceful, free and fair poll today. Voting will be recorded from 7 am to 12 noon.

However, the State Election Commission on Thursday has ordered re-polling in 154 wards in 7 districts where disturbances had occurred during the third phase election on Wednesday.

Re-poll will be conducted 11 wards of Patrapur, Beguniapada, Bhanjanagar and Jagannathprasad Block of Ganjam district on February 19. Re-polling will also be held in 10 wards of Kujanga block in Jagatsinghpur, 2 wards of Bisham Katak block of Rayagada, 1 ward of Binka block of Subernapur District.

The re-poll for the 121 wards of Khurda district for the Zilla Parishad election has also been rescheduled on February 19, where election was cancelled for because of wrong election symbol. The re-election in 6 wards in Binjharpur block of Jajpur and 3 wards of Lanjigarh block of Kalahandi will be held on February 20, sources said.