Jagatsinghpur: In the final phase of Panchayat polls, 4 Zilla Parishad constituencies, 24 Sarpanch, 25 Samiti members and above 400 ward member posts of coastal Erasama block will go on polls on Sunday.

Official sources said that Posco region Dhinkia Panchayat has been excluded from holding Sarpanch polls. However polling will be held for the posts of Zilla Parishad, Samiti member and ward member as scheduled.

The ruling party MLA Prasant Muduli, former minister Damodar Rout and senior Congress leader and former legislator Umesh Swain will prove their pre- eminence and supremacy during the polls. The election results of three Posco affected Panchayat’s Dhinkia, Govindapur and Nuagaon will bring far more repercussion to decide the fate of South Korean Posco steel project there.

As many as 21 candidates from different political parties including few independents are in poll fray for the 4 ZP constituencies and maximum 7 candidates are contesting in Zone 3 and it is expected taht the main fight would be held between BJD and Congress.

In 2007 ZP elections here Congress had bagged 2 seats in Zone 1 and 3. BJD had captured 1 seat and an independent candidate had grabbed one seat.

This time all eyes are on the Posco region Zone 4, where 5 candidates are battling the elections. Main fight will be between Nimain Swain former chairman of Erasama block and a close aid of former minister Damodar Rout and Congress
aspirant Sarada Jena a two timer ZP member elected from Erasama block.