Jagatsinghpur: The final phase of Panchayat polls was held in Erasama block for 4 ZP seats, 24 Sarpanch, 25 Samiti members and more than 500 ward member posts today.

The polling passed off peacefully barring few stray incidents. Miscreants snatched away ballot box in one booth locates at Nuaratnapur polling station in Kunjakothi Panchayat.

However re-polling in 10 booths at Bagadia Panchayat on Sunday witnessed peaceful polling where 76 percent polling was recorded.

Though the ZP poll results are waiting official declaration, the booth wise vote counting after completion of fifth phase of polls say, BJD candidates with 3 ZP seats are well ahead of their Congress counterparts. The Congress had bagged only one seat in Erasama block.

In last ZP elections held in Erasama block in the year 2007, Congress candidates had bagged 2, BJD 1 and independent candidate had bagged 1 seat out of 4 ZP zones spread the block.