Former International cricketer Sanjay Raul at the inaugural ceremony of the tournment on Saturday
Former International cricketer Sanjay Raul at the inaugural ceremony of the tournment on Saturday
Bhubaneswar: The 3rd edition of the week-long SOA Premier League (SPL) cricket extravaganza involving a dozen University teams was inaugurated at the Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan Deemed University (SOAU) Stadium near Sum Hospital in Kalinga Nagar by former International cricketer Sanjay Raul amidst a scintillating cultural show and fireworks on Saturday.

Raul, who played in two ODIs for India against Pakistan in the Sahara Cup at Toronto in 1998, was cheered by the large crowd of students as he inaugurated the T-20 tournament wishing success for the participating teams.

The tournament has attracted seven Universities from outside the State while five teams from the State. Last year’s winners Utkal University and hosts SOA Deemed University will spearhead the local challenge.

The other teams in the fray include Ravenshaw University, Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT) and Vir Surendra Sai University of Technology (VSSUT), Burla, all from the state. The outstation teams are Andhra University, Kolkata University, Punjab University, SRM University, Sikkim Manipal University, Gitam University and Vinayak Mission University.

The teams have been split into four groups where they will play in a round-robin basis and winners of each group will proceed to the semifinals. The semi finals will be played on February 23 and the final will be played the next day. The winners of the tournament will receive a cash prize of Rs 50, 000 while the runners-up team will receive Rs 30, 000.

The inauguration of the tournament was followed by a friendly match between hosts SOA University and Andhra University.

Among others Prof. B.K.Sarap, Deputy Chairman of the SOA Deemed University, Dr. R.K.Hota, Convenor of the SPL and Additional Dean of the Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER), the faculty of engineering of SOAU were present during the inaugural ceremony.