Bhubaneswar: BJD chief Naveen Patnaik today announced Ranendra Pratap Swain as the BJD candidate to contest Athgarh assembly by-election.

Talking to mediapersons here, BJD chief Naveen Patnaik on Friday had said that the former BJD MLA and former Minister Swain, was a senior member of the party and had done good works in the constituency.

The Election Commission of India on Thursday had announced to hold by-election to the Athagarh Assembly seat on March 18.

According to the poll schedule, the notification for by-election would be issued on February 22 while the process for filing of nomination papers would start from February 22 and will continue till February 29. Scrutinization of the nomination papers will be on March 1 and the last date for withdrawal has been fixed to March 3.