Panchayat Polls Odisha 2012
Panchayat Polls Odisha 2012
Kalahandi (Report by Dushmanta Kumar Panda): The ruling BJD registered a clean sweap in the just finished Zilla Parishad (ZP) Poll in Kalahandi district. Out of 36 ZPs in Kalahandi, BJD won 28 ZPs, BJP 5 ZPs and Congress managed only 3 ZPs.

For the common man subsidised rice for Rs.2.00/kg, compensation for the farmers, school dresses to the school students and other developmental activities of Navin Pattnaik Government played a decisive role in casting their vote. So as per the political analysts the credits goes Navin Patnaik Govt. and not to local leadership.

Out of 18 ZPs in Bhawanipatna sub-division, BJD bagged 15, BJP 2 and Congress 1. Out of 15 seats BJD won 3 each in Narla and Bhawanipatna block, 2 each in Karlamunda, M-Ramopur, TH-Rampur and Kesinga block and 1 from Lanjigad block. The BJP won 1 each from Kesinga and Bhawanipatna block and the Congress won 1 seat from Lanjigad block.

Out of 18 ZPs in Dharamgad sub-division, BJD bagged 13, BJP 3 and Congress 2. Out of 13 seats BJD won 3 each in Junagad and Jaipatna block, 2 each in Kalampur, Dharamgad and Koksara block,1 in Golamunda block. The BJP won 1 each from Dharamgad, Golamunda and Junagad block.The Congress won 1 each from Koksara and Golamunda block.

It is imporatnt to mention here that Congress has 1 MP seat and 4 out of 5 MLA seats in the Kalahandi district.