Raja Swain filing nomination on Monday
Raja Swain filing nomination on Monday
Cuttack: Senior BJD leader and former Minister Ranendra Pratap Swain alias Raja of the ruling BJD filed nomination for the March 18 by-poll to Athagarh assembly seat on Monday, accompanied by a large number of supporters.

Raja was not allowed to contest the 2009 Odisa assembly elections from the constituency although he was the official nominee of the ruling party.

He however came out victorious when the Odisha High Court nullified the returning officer’s action and directed for a fresh elections in the constituency.

The Apex Court later endorsed the HC’s verdict upholding the order for a fresh poll in the segment.

Apart from this an independent candidate Anam Mohapatra also filed his nomination papers for the polls during the day. While Opposition Congress has named the candidature of PCC General Secretary Suresh Mohapatra, BJP has announced the name of Bikram Dash as the candidate for next months by-poll. The two are yet to file their papers.