Athgarh: The nominations papers of BJD candidate Ranendra Pratap Swain alias were finally accepted by the returning officer for the by-poll today on the day of scrutiny of nomination papers.

Ranendra Pratap Swain was not allowed to contest the 2009 Odisha Assembly elections. He however came out victorious when the Odisha High Court nullified the returning officer’s action and directed for a fresh elections in the constituency.

The Apex Court later endorsed the HC’s verdict upholding the order for a fresh poll in the segment.

Swain had filed four sets of nominations papers for the by-election. Altogether ten candidates had filed 19 sets of nomination papers. The nomination papers of all the ten candidates have been accepted after proper scrutiny.