Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission on Saturday announced the biennial election for 58 Rajya Sabha seats from 15 states, including 3 seats from Odisha. The polling will be held on 30th of March.

As per the sources, the notification for the poll will be issued on March 12 and the last day of filing nominations is 19th of March. The nomination papers will be scrutinized on March 20. The last day for the withdrawal of nominations will be March 22.

The three members whose terms will end on March 03 are Kishor Mohanty from BJD, Rudra Pani from BJP and Sushila Tiria from Congress.

The ruling BJD party is sure to win two of these three seats as it has sufficient MLAs. But for the third seat it has not sufficient MLAs. If the opposition files a single candidate then there is a possibility of winning of a non BJD candidate for Rajya Sabha.