BJD Supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik
BJD Supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik
Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Tuesday made a clean sweep in the Zilla Parishad President election by winning 28 of the total 30 seats elections.

The Opposition Congress managed to win only in two districts namely Jharsuguda and Kandhamal while BJP failed to have in any district.

While in Jharsuguda Ms Renuka Kansrali of Congress won the Zilla Parishad president post, in Kandhamal Sanjukta Kanhar of the Congress was elected as the President.

In Jharsuguda, the Congress had won eight out of the nine Zilla Parishad seats.

In Kandhamal while Congress had won nine out of the total 18 Zilla Parishad seats, the BJD had won six and the BJP three.

But the Congress bagged the Zilla Parishad President post in Kandhamal after the BJP extended its support to the Congress to defeat the BJD.

In Koraput even though both the BJD and the Congress were evenly poised by winning 14 seats each, the Zilla Parishad president post went in favour of BJD after the Independent candidate extended its support to the BJD.

Importantly, of the total 30 Zilla Parishad President posts, 18 seats were won by women candidates even though only fifteen seats were reserved for women, which is 50 per cent of the total seats, the other 3 seats were captured republicly.