Athgarh: The much-awaited Athgarh by-election will undergo under tight security today. A keen contest is expected as all the parties are leaving no stone unturned to win the contest.

A sum total of 1,84,555 voters covering 44 panchayats are expected to exercise their franchise to vote for the candidates contesting for the seat. A total of 198 booths are alotted for the election.

Keeping security aspects in mind, 20 platoons of police force and 80 police officers are deployed in the constituency. An awareness van is also provided in order to educate the voters on how to use the EVMs.

All the presiding officers and polling officers have already arrived in the sub-collectors office, from where they will go towards there respective booths.

The candidates contesting for the election are, Ranendra Pratap Swain (BJD), Suresh Mohapatra (Cong), Bikram Dash (BJP), Gagan Bihari Rout (Samrudha Odisha), Bratati Chaterjee (Utkal Bharat) whereas Bijay Kumar Biswal and Bhagirathi Rout will contest as independent candidates.