Bhubaneswar: Noted writer and administrator Dr Hrushikesh Panda would be conferred with the coveted Sarala Award for his work – ‘Garba Karibara Katha’. The award committee announced this at a meeting on Wednesday.

Dr. Panda will be the 33rd winner of the literary award. He will receive a cash award of Rs 2.5 lakh along with a citation.

Two more notable personalities of the State will be honoured for their valuable contributions in their respective fields. They are Musician Banamali Maharana and social worker Padmacharan Nayak. They will receive cash award of Rs 51,000 each along with citations.

The awards would be given at a special function scheduled to be held on October 26 at Jayadev Bhawan.

The annual Sarala Award, instituted since 1978 by the Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT), which is the charitable wing of the IMFA Group, the only fully-integrated producer of ferroalloys in India. The Ekalabya Award, is also instituted by the IMPaCT that crowns promising sports talents of Odisha.

Source: 360 NS