Bhubaneswar: The State Government on Tuesday has formed a 12-member high-level committee to review the process of the renewal of mining lease in the State.

The State Government’s decision to form the committee came after a recent resolution of the state government, which decided that from now onwards only mines that contribute significantly to the mineral development would be applicable for the renewal of their lease.

The committee is headed by the State Chief Secretary Shri B.K Patnaik and has senior officials from Steel and Mines department, Forest and Environment department, Principal Conservator of Forest, Mines Directorate, Members of Orissa Pollution Control Board, and members from Orissa Space Application Centre (ORSAC) as its other members.

From now, all the mining lease renewal applications that come to the State Steel and Mines department, will be referred to the committee for reviewing.

The Mines department while sending its views to the State Government, has to include the recommendation of the committee for the lease renewal. Then it will be forwarded to the Central Government for the final approval.

Source: 360 NS