Bhubaneswar: Six Maoists surrendered in Odisha’s Malkangiri district Monday, police said.

Raju Hentala, Bhanja Hentala, Rupa Khila, Purushottam Khara, Tripati Khara and Gopinath Pangi surrendered at Malkangiri town, 620 km from here, Superintendent of Police Akhileswar Singh told IANS.

All of them were militia committee members of the Communist Party of India-Maoist and were operating in the Chitrakonda region of the district.

They were organising meetings, collecting information and providing logistic support to the Maoists.

They would be provided with necessary assistance under the state government’s rehabilitation policy for Maoists.

Maoists are active in more than half of Odisha’s 30 districts.

Source: IANS