Bhubaneswar: Voting for the 20 urban local bodies in nine Western Odisha districts began Friday amidst tight security, an official said.

Electors could be seen reaching polling stations even before voting started at 8 a.m. The vote cast will continue till 5 p.m.

The elections are held for 10 municipalities and 12 NACs in Sambalpur, Sundergarh, Bargarh, Bolangir, Subarnapur, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi and Nuapada districts.

An estimated of 4.93 lakh voters shall exercise their franchise in 560 booths in as many as 301 wards.

Of the 560 booths, a total of 329 booths have been identified as sensitive and 53 booths as hypersensitive. Necessary steps have been taken to ensure smooth polling. All the district collectors and SPs have been directed to make elaborate security arrangements for free and fair elections.

Furthermore, steps have also been taken for video recording of casting of votes at all the booths. Besides, CCTVs have been installed in sensitive booths to record the proceedings to avoid any kind of malpractice.

The results of the poll will be announced on November 23.

Source: IANS