New Delhi: Congress general secretaries Digvijaya Singh and Madhusudan Mistry figure in the list of nine party candidates released Monday for the ensuing biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha. Singh and Mistry will contest from Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat respectively.

A party release said that Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved the list that also includes party treasurer Motilal Vora as a candidate from Chhattisgarh.

Other Congress candidates are Viplove Thakur (Himachal Pradesh), K.V.P. Ramachandra Rao, M.A. Khan, T. Subbarami Reddy (all from Andhra Pradesh), Murli Deora and Husain Umar Dalwai (Maharashtra), Haji Abdul Salam (Manipur), Wansuk Syiem (Meghalaya), and Ranjib Biswal (Odisha).

Source: IANS