Bhubaneswar: Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court, Justice Dhirendra Hiralal Waghela, will be the next Chief Justice of the Odisha High Court, a notification from Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi said on Monday.

President Pranab Mukherjee transferred him to the Odisha High court after consultation with the Chief Justice of India and directed him to assume office within two months, the notification said.

Waghela replaces Justice Pradip Kumar Mohanty, the acting Chief Justice of the Odisha High Court.

Mohanty had assumed office in March this year after the elevation of Justice Amitava Roy to the Supreme Court.

Justice Waghela is scheduled to retire in August, 2016.

Born in August 1954 at Rajkot in Gujarat, Justice Waghela began his legal practice in his hometown in November 1975 and was elevated to the bench of the Gujarat High Court as an additional judge in September 1999.

The President also appointed Krushna Ram Mohapatra, Jatindra Prasad Das and Durga Prasanna Choudhury as additional Judges of the Odisha High Court for a period of two years.

Source: IANS