Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has decided to set up 10 civil courts to deal with crimes against women, state Law Minister Arun Sahu said here on Monday.

The civil judge courts (senior division) would come up in Cuttack, Puri, Ganjam, Balesore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapada, Sambalpur, Bolangir and Mayurbhanj.

Law Minister Sahu hoped this would help in people getting speedy justice.

The government has also decided to set up five civil judge courts in Pipili, Khariala, R. Udaygiri, Birmaharajpur and Basudevpur.

The government decided to set up the courts following recommendations of a high-level committee.

The Orissa High Court had asked the government to set up the courts, said a release from the law department.

The government has also decided to set up another 26 civil courts (junior division) in various places across the state.

Source: IANS