Bhubaneswar: UNICEF, Odisha in partnership with AAINA, an Odishabased voluntary organization, announced the names of the six winners for ‘Kallola 2016,’ Season II, at the awards ceremony held today. The Chief Guest, Minister of Tourism and Culture, Shri Ashok Chandra Panda presented the awards to the winners. Noted filmmaker Mr. Sabyasachi Mohapatra was the Guest of Honour at the ceremony. The event saw participation of approximately 200 people representing NGOs, media, students and parents.

Kallola, an annual short film contest on child rights organized by UNICEF in partnership with Aaina entered its 2nd year, with the theme of ending discrimination against girls. The short films range from 30 to 90 seconds duration.

‘REETI’ by Tapas Ranjan Rout on peoples’ attitude towards the birth of a girl child, received the 1st prize; ‘PARIVARTAN’ by Gaurav Upadhyaya on empowering women to end discrimination against girls won the 2nd Prize and ‘BUTTERFLY’ by Ashutosh Pattnaik about a deprived little girl’s eagerness for education received the 3rd Prize. The Jury’s Choice award went to ‘ANAMIKA’ by Raj Rishi Mitra while the Children’s Choice awards was tied between ‘KHUSI’ by Letshine and ‘MY WISH’ by Snehasis Das.

This year Kallola – Junior, a non-competitive category of short films by children was introduced. Five short films were made by 15 adolescent children from five schools in the city: Capital High School (Unit-3); DAV Public School (Unit -8); Govt. Girl’s High School (Unit-9); Sri Aurobindo Institute of Integral Education and St Xavier’s High School (Khandagiri). The short films were conceptualized, scripted and directed by the children themselves.

Speaking on the occasion, Ms. Yumi Bae, Chief, UNICEF Odisha said, “Discrimination against girls is woven into the very fabric of our lives and ending it is not going to be easy, but has to be done. We do not know how long it will take to end it, but we do know how it will begin – with awareness among as many people as possible, that will enable them to then act. We hope that through these films we can drive home the sensibilities needed to end discrimination against girls in our own homes, families and society.”

Introducing the contest, Ms. Sneha Mishra, Secretary, AAINA said,“Kallola season II has some very interesting additional components: Kallola Junior,a non-competitive section where children from five schools made films. We also appreciate the association of Department of WCD, OTV and CII this year.We plan a larger outreach of all the films through four regional film festivals of Kallola across Odisha.”

An eminent jury comprising of Mr. Anant Mahapatra, Ms Bisakha Bhanja, Mr ChandrabhanuPattnayak, Mr. S.V. Raman, Ms. Manipadma Jena and Mr Manoj Mishra along with a special panel of children jury from 5 different schools and student representatives from different districts evaluated the entries and selected the best entries to be awarded.