CM Flags off Odisha Himalayan Expedition Team


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik flagged off a 15-member team for the 2nd Biju Patnaik Himalayan Expedition from Naveen Niwas on Tuesday.

The mountaineering team would climb Mt Rudugaira (19,100 ft), a peak situated in Gangotri glacier of Uttarakhand during their mission.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik handed over flags and wished them luck for their expedition.

The expedition team would be led by legendary mountaineer Padmashri Bachendri Pal, Padmashri Premlata Agarwal, along with mountaineer Jogabyasa Bhoi and Rajendra Singh Pal.

It is noteworthy to mention that the Odisha government’s sports and youth affairs department had launched the Biju Patnaik Himalaya Abhijan last year, in association with Tata Steel Adventure Foundation as part of the Biju Patnaik’s birth centenary celebrations.