Elections 2019: Odisha to Vote in 4 Phases


Bhubaneswar: Odisha will go to simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in four phases starting April 11.

As per the announcement made by the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday, elections to the State’s 21 Lok Sabha (LS) constituencies and 147 Assembly segments will be held on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

With the announcement of poll dates, the State government has been notified to strictly implement the model code of conduct with immediate effect. Every department has been directed to appoint their nodal officers to ensure that hoardings, banners, posters and photographs of political leaders which are not in accordance with the model code are removed within 24 hours.

While Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput LS constituencies will go to polls in the first phase on April 11, the second phase elections will be held in Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska constituencies on April 18.

Similarly, elections in Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri and Bhubaneswar will be held in the third phase on April 23. The last phase polls will be held in Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur constituencies on April 29.

The counting of votes for all the Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies will be done on May 23.