15th State-level Theatre Fest and Panchamveda Award 2019


Bhubaneswar: The 15th edition of the Pancham Veda state-level theatre festival got underway at Rabindra Mandap here on Wednesday.

This year, the Panchama Veda Award will be given to noted theatre personalities like Manmath Satpathy, Dr. Narayan Sahoo, Dhira Mallick, Suranjan Dasmohapatra and Laxmipriya Mishra during the four-day festival.

Choudhury Bikash Das will be honored with the Amiya Patnaik Memorial Award.

On the inaugural evening artistes of Panchama Veda staged ‘Abasara’, a play written by Hara Prasad Barik and directed by Haren Sahoo.

On the second evening, Samparka theater group from Rourkela presented the play ‘Mu Bijayanand Kahuchi’ written and directed by Bhaskar Mohapatra.

The Play ‘Nirjiba Ghoda’ by Puri Artistes Association was showcased on the third evening. The play, written by Pradeep Pradhan is directed by Ramakrushna Mohapatra.

The concluding evening of the festival shall feature ‘Khalanayika – Eka Aatmakatha’ to be staged by the artistes of Lavanya Theatre from Bhubaneswar. The play, written by Dilip Balabantaray is directed by Satya Jena.

The theatre festival will continue till March 16.