Naveen Patnaik Set to become Odisha CM for 5th Consecutive Term


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) supremo Naveen Patnaik is all set to return to power for a fifth consecutive term with his party comfortably ahead in the assembly elections.

Patnaik contested from two seats for the first time in this assembly election – Hinjili, his home turf in south Odisha and Bijepur in west Odisha.

The BJD, which had won 117 seats in 2014, was leading on 110 seats when reports last came in.

The BJD is also ahead in the race for the Lok Sabha with its candidates leading on 12 out of the 21 seats.