Bhubaneswar: Eminent writer Pratibha Ray would be conferred with the coveted Sarala Award at a special function scheduled to be held on December 8, 2019.

Ray will receive the award from Andhra Pradesh Governor Biswabhushan Harichandan.

Ray was also the first woman to win the Moortidevi Award in 1991 for her magnum opus ‘Yajnaseni’. She is also the recipient of Sarala Award in 1990 for her book ‘Yajnaseni’.

Prior to that, she was honoured with Odisha Sahitya Akademi Award for ‘Shilapadma’ in 1985.

Last year, she was appointed as the chairperson of Jnanpith Selection Board.