Bhubaneswar: South Asia Media Talk and Odisha Media Award 2018 was in Bhubaneswar on Monday.

Odisha Media Award is an attempt by a group of journalists and development activists committed to the people of Odisha. The primary objective of OMA is to facilitate media coverage of people’s causes by recognising and encouraging journalists and other media persons of the state of Odisha who through their works have championed causes of people while passing relevant information to empower the ordinary man. 

During the event “South Asia Media Talk“ Media round table discussions were made on Reporting Climate Change in Bay of Bengal: Disasters & Beyond. In this discussion the guests were Ranjan Panda, Covernor, Water Initiative, Senior Journalist Sandeep Sahu, Richard Mohapatra, Binayak Rath. Regional Manager ActionAid Debabrata Patra. 

In the Odisha Media Award ceremony 13 awardees are felicitated in 12 categories. In Print Category  Gopal krishna Mohapatra, Editor, Prameya felicitated as the Editor of the Year, Saral Das – Columnist of the Year. In Television category Manoranjan MishraLive (Kanak TV) felicitated as Best Television Show (Current Affairs), Bhabani Mohapatra (OTV) as Best News Presenter. In Common Category Priya Ranjan Sahu felicitated as Best Reporter (People’s Issue Reporting), Rakhi Ghosh as Best Reporter (Gender Issue Reporting),  Manish Kumar, Orissa Post as Best Reporter (Developmental Reporting). Richard Mohapatra, Managing Director, Down to Earth awarded as Inspiring Journalist of the year. Best Reporters award for Community Reporting have given to Rashmi Ranjan Dora, Reporter- Samaja, Rayagada and Kishan Barai, Reporter-Prameya NEWS7 . Prof Sunil Kanta Behera awarded as Mass Communication Teacher (Lifetime Contribution). Kamala Kanta Rath awarded as Cartoon Journalist of The Year and Dirty Mind (by Santosh Panda) as Best Peoples Cause Documentary. 

During this occasion a discussion was made on ‘What are we writing now a day?’ Many senior Journalists were spoke like Senior Journalist Prasanta Patnaik, Richard Mahapatra, Gopal krishna Mohapatra, Sudhir Patnaik, Sandeep Sahu, Jatin Das, Manoranjan Mishra & Dr Shisir Das.