Haripur, previously known as Hariharpur, was founded by Maharaja Harihar Bhanj in the year 1400 AD. and remained as the capital of Bhanja Dynasty before its shifting to Baripada. Baidyanath Bhaanj, another ruler of the dynasty built here a magnificent brick temple in honour of his tutelary God Rasika-raya. Though in dilapidated condition, now the edifice has earned the distinction of being unique among the brick temples of Orissa. The vast ruins here afford ample and interesting materials for antiquarian research. A little North to the courtyard of Rasikaraya temple lies the ruins of Ranihanspur (the inner apartment of queen) and to the east once stood the Durbal Hall, studded with sculptured stone colums and arches of intricate designs, the remains of which have been recently unearthed. Closeby stands the brick-built rectangular temple of Radhamohan. The temple of Jagannath also stands nearby which is built in Goudiya style of architecture during the region of Harihar Bhanj. The deities have since been shifted to the neighbouring village Pratappur and are now worshipped there.